Compounded semaglutide vs Wegovy: what each costs
Wegovy is FDA-approved; compounded semaglutide is not. With that said out loud, here is what each route costs in cash.
As of August 31, 2026:
On cash price alone, verified compounded semaglutide starts at $88 per month (Sunlight, month-to-month, grade B) against a modeled $3,138 per year — about $261.50 per month averaged — for brand-name Wegovy self-pay. The regulatory difference is the headline, not a footnote: Wegovy is an FDA-approved product with reviewed manufacturing; compounded semaglutide is not FDA-approved or FDA-reviewed for safety, effectiveness or quality. This page compares prices, not equivalence.
Cheapest verified compounded plans
| Provider | Plan | Advertised /mo | All-in /mo, maintenance dose | 12-month all-in | Dose pricing | Membership | Included | Grade | Verified | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sunlightcompounded injectable | month-to-month | $88 | $88 | $1,056 | not published | not published | care: not published; shipping: not published | B | — | sunlight.com | |
| Trimicompounded injectable | 12-month plan, prepaid $1,188 | $99 | $99 | $1,188 | same at every dose | not published | care: not published; shipping: not published | B | — | trytrimi.com | |
| NexLifecompounded injectable | 12-month plan, billing not stated | $119 | $119 | $1,428 | same at every dose | none | care and shipping | A | — | nexlife.us | |
| Ozari Healthcompounded injectable | 3-month plan, billing not stated | $145 | $145 | $1,563 | not stated | none | care: not published; shipping included | B | — | ozarihealth.com | |
| Orderly Medscompounded injectable | month-to-month | $149 | $149 | $1,788 | same at every dose | none | care and shipping | A | — | orderlymeds.com |
Wegovy self-pay routes
| Provider | Plan | Advertised /mo | All-in /mo, maintenance dose | 12-month all-in | Dose pricing | Membership | Included | Grade | Verified | Change | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| NovoCare Pharmacy brandbrand-name oral | month-to-month | $149 | $299 | $3,138 | rises with dose | none | care: paid; shipping included | B | — | novocare.com | |
| NovoCare Pharmacy brandbrand-name pen | month-to-month | $349 | $349 | $4,038 | rises with dose | none | care: paid; shipping included | B | — | novocare.com |
Grades: A = price and terms verified on the provider’s page; B = price verified, some terms unpublished; C = introductory price only; D = third-party report, not verified by us; U = no public price. Grade D rows are shown for completeness and are never counted in verified statistics. Full definitions.
Questions this page answers
Is compounded semaglutide the same as Wegovy?
No. Wegovy is an FDA-approved finished drug product; compounded semaglutide is prepared by compounding pharmacies and is not FDA-approved or FDA-reviewed for safety, effectiveness or quality. They sit in different regulatory categories, and this site compares their prices without implying equivalence.
How much cheaper is compounded semaglutide?
On cash price alone, verified compounded semaglutide starts at $88 per month (Sunlight, month-to-month, grade B) against a modeled $3,138 per year — about $261.50 per month averaged — for brand-name Wegovy self-pay. The regulatory difference is the headline, not a footnote: Wegovy is an FDA-approved product with reviewed manufacturing; compounded semaglutide is not FDA-approved or FDA-reviewed for safety, effectiveness or quality. This page compares prices, not equivalence.